“I Could Physically FEEL Their Prayers”

The Power of Combined Prayers

imagesThis story comes from Amy, on her profile at mormon.org.

About six months ago, I became critically ill and was hospitalized with pneumonia. I had never been away from my three young children for more than two days! I was frightened and worried that I may never return home again.”We’re out of milk! We have overdue library books! Who will pick the kids up from school? Moms can’t get sick!” I believe in the power of prayer. I know God hears and answers our prayers. As I was being rushed to the hospital in the ambulance, I prayed and asked Heavenly Father to please take care of my family. An immediate peace came into my heart and my mind. Christ’s words put to music in a familiar hymn “How Firm a Foundation” entered my mind and calmed my “troubled heart” – “Fear not, I am with thee; oh, be not dismayed, for I am thy God and will still give thee aid. I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand…” As news of my critical condition spread to my family members, they joined with our church congregation (ward) and began fasting and praying for my recovery. I could physically FEEL their prayers, and God’s healing power strengthening me. There was power in those combined prayers in my behalf, and I am so thankful for their faith. I know the wonderful doctors who treated me were guided and inspired by those prayers of faith to know what to do, and how best to help me. The experiences which refine are not easy, but are there for us to learn and be tested. I realized my most important work is to be a wife and mother. I am so thankful that my health has returned, and that I am able to be with my family now and forever. I am never alone. Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ know me and love me, and are aware of my needs. Through this experience, I gained a greater appreciation for my life, for my family, and for the gospel.

Leave a Reply

